Home > Uncategorized > Boston, Boston, Boston

Boston, Boston, Boston

In town for a few days for a little rest and relaxation. I’ve always wanted to catch a game at Fenway Park, unfortunately, the Red Sox aren’t in town as they play in Detroit this weekend. However, with the Bruins game 7 tonight it could mean a wild party and I’ll be at the centre of the action here in downtown Boston.

Not much to report in Toronto sports outside of the worrisome trend that is the late inning collapse of the Blue Jays bullpen. However, a rare John Mcdonald throwing error was the catalyst as the Jays dropped the opener to the White Sox 3-1.

Toronto FC can thank Thor for giving them another opportunity to advance to the CONCACAF Champions League. Vancouver was leading 1-0 and in position to advance, when after several delays, the game had to be stopped. The replay will take place on July 2nd, and because of NCC rules, replayed from the beginning.

Bulls with an epic collapse last night and the Heat move on which means I’m a Texan for the next two weeks.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 27, 2011 at 9:35 AM

    This is the Bruins’ moment in the sun. They’ve got to get the power play going (I believe they’re at 8% so far in the playoffs), and, more importantly, they can’t continue to allow the Lightning to score in the first two minutes again.

    Should be a great match….enjoy your time in Boston! As a displaced Bostonian living in New York, I wish I could spend a lot more time at Fenway too.

    P.S. I was in Toronto last August and saw the Blue Jays win 17-11. (At one point, I stepped into the concourse to buy some ice cream and missed three — yes, THREE — home runs in that time span.)

    • Toronto Sports Fanatic
      May 27, 2011 at 4:29 PM

      Thanks for the comment Jay. I don’t think we’re going to see another 9 goal game like in Game 6, so whoever scores first is going to have a huge advantage, so the Bruins can’t afford to fall behind again early. I think Thomas is going to have a huge game and the Bruins will win it 2-1. I’ll be watching it in the North End tonight, so can you recommend a good bar/pub to watch it?

      As for that Jays game I remember it pretty well. They hit 8 home runs that day, but it really didn’t surprise anyone the way they were hitting home runs last season. As for this season, seeing them in last place on the Green Monster was a shot to the heart. I mean, I get it, they aren’t the Sox, or Yanks, or even Rays, but lower than Baltimore? I can’t stand for that.

      You’ve got a gorgeous city and the weather here is incredible. I’m sure you miss it very much.

      • May 27, 2011 at 7:57 PM

        Wish I could recommend a good bar, but unfortunately I haven’t lived in Boston since before college, so I wasn’t of age to go bar-hopping at the time. 🙂

        That said, if you’re in the North End, make sure to go to Mike’s Pastry. It’s a pretty legendary place.

        As for the Jays, I know what you mean. The AL East is a viciously competitive division. Sometimes I think baseball should adopt something closer to the hockey system in which the teams are just ranked first to last in each league, regardless of division.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

